LIVE-IN PA to Disabled Uni Student - GRADUATE GAP YEAR OPPORTUNITY!

Recruiter
Ask Jules
Location
Reading
Salary
120.00 GBP Annual
Posted
08 Jun 2021
Closes
06 Jul 2021
Sector
Charity
Start Date
Immediate
Duration
Permanent

Graduate Opportunity: GBP840 per week/ Live-In PA/Carer/ Reading University:

Speech and Language

AskJules are agents for university students with physical disabilities who choose to employ

like-minded Personal Assistants to provide their care and support.

Job Title: Personal Assistant

Our client has a vacancy for a Personal Assistant to provide her personal care, academic and

personal support, and help her to make the most of her university experience!

Care experience is not required as full training in our client's particular requirements will be

provided.

Hours: Live-in (one week on /one week off)

Start Date: September 2021

Location: University of Reading

Contract: University Term time

Pay & Benefits:GBP840 per week worked + opportunity to work extra shifts

Weekly live-in rota:7 days on and 7 days off or similar arrangement. Free accommodation in Student halls when on shift

Holiday:5.6 weeks' holiday per year

About our Client

Our client is an 19-year-old, who is about to start her second year of a 4-year integrated masters

in Speech and Language at University of Reading she has a physical disability, Hemiplegia which is a form of cerebral palsy.

About our client, as written by her ???

"Hello, I am looking forward to starting my second year at Reading University in September!! I will be completing a 4-year integrated masters in Speech and Language. I hope that on completion of my degree I can work in a hospital paediatric unit. I am looking for a team of PA's to assist me with my care to ensure I lead as normal life as possible whilst at uni. I want to be able to experience the same opportunities as everyone else, and to be treated the same. I hope I can find a suitable PA who is willing to help me make the most out of my time at uni.

My Condition -

My condition is Hemiplegia which is a form of cerebral palsy. This impacts my balance, fine and

gross motor skills on my left side. I also have hip dysplasia that affects how far I can walk and

due to the pain, when going long distance, I will have to use a wheelchair. At University I will

require assistance with dressing and getting ready for the day, making meals and helping me with

transport. My course will involve placements of which I will need my hair tied up. I may require

some academic support in lectures and some support again at night with getting ready for bed.

What I would like from you -

I am looking for PA's that have similar interests, for example, art, speech and language therapy,

sign language, Friends and pop music

Someone who is kind and compassionate,

They will need to be patient and understand my needs and be willing to work with me to better

understand how I like support to be given as some aspects are quite specific.

I would like a PA to really get to know me and encourage my independence as much as possible, but also have an understanding of when I need support. I don't like being given support when I don't want it, but I also like support on hand for when I do ask. Although I won't need you at my side 24 / 7, I do need a PA who is responsive and has amazing time management and organizational skills - this will help put my mind at ease and focus on my Uni work. Uni work aside, I would like a PA who is willing to be a friend and assist me with going out and enjoying all that uni life has to offer!!

About the Job

This is a great opportunity to spend a year doing something very different and meaningful after

graduating from university, before embarking on a further career.

You will provide our client's personal care, social support and academic support at university.

This is also a "flatmate" type of role which goes far beyond simply care work and includes all the fun things you'd expect a student of 19 to be doing.

About You

You are unlikely to have experience in every aspect of our client's support, therefore, full

training in her particular needs is provided.

You will need to be

  • Physically fit, calm, patient and caring
  • Interested in art, speech and language therapy, sign language, friends and pop music
  • Good organisational skills and being able to work on your own initiative
  • Have a good sense of humour
  • A mature and responsible attitude
  • Excellent hearing and communication skills
  • Hold a full, clean, UK driving licence.
  • Fluent in English, both written and verbal.
  • Be clean and tidy in both your appearance and ways.
  • Non-Smoker

If you would like to apply for this position, please describe your interests in your covering

letter.

AskJules is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of vulnerable adults. All

applicants must be willing to undergo the appropriate screening, including checks with past employers and an Enhanced Disclosure via the Disclosure and Barring Service.

Similar jobs

Similar jobs